NBA

Pablo Prigioni on his escape from Knicks hell

While Knicks president Phil Jackson must wait until mid-May, Pablo Prigioni feels as if he already won the lottery with his late February trade to Houston, which he admits now he requested.

Prigioni plans to be a coach when he retires, which could come after these playoffs. So his experience playing in Jackson’s triangle was “interesting,’’ he said, even if not his cup of tea.

Now the 38-year-old Argentine point guard is back running a Rockets offense he knows and prefers, saying it is similar to what Mike Woodson employed two seasons ago during the Knicks’ 54-28 campaign.

Prigioni has been a contributing piece off the Rockets bench and is awaiting their second-round opponent, either the Spurs or Clippers, after Houston routed Dallas in five games. Prigioni can become one of five players to appear in the second round of both conferences in the past three playoffs.

Rockets GM Daryl Morey traded for Prigioni at the Feb. 19 trade deadline, giving up two future second-rounders and Alexey Shved, as point-guard insurance. The insurance policy paid off after the season-ending injury to guard Patrick Beverley in late March.

“It was a big change for me – the first three, four months of the season was really tough, really hard for me,’’ Prigioni told The Post in a phone interview. “We were in the middle of a rebuilding. After the trade, everything changed. I got a little lucky to land on one of best teams in the West. I feel lucky we have this injury, very bad for [Patrick]. He was playing great. On the other side, that injury opened space in the rotation for me. I’m trying to give my best and enjoy this pressure.’’

Prigioni has seen significant time during the Rockets playoff push.Getty Images

After Jackson’s January fire sale, Prigioni’s started getting DNPs. Prigioni had one year at $1.7 million remaining on his pact, but just $300,00 guaranteed.

“When I saw how things were going, it was so clear they were looking more to next season, the summer,’’ Prigioni said. “I felt myself at 38, I have no future on the team. I talked to Derek [Fisher] and told him my desire to send me somewhere so I can enjoy probably my last year in the league. At the deadline it was good for me and the team because they’re looking for young guys to build for the next five years.’’

In the first round, Prigioni averaged 21 minutes in five games off the bench. Though he shot just 33 percent, he moved the ball, defended and provided leadership, averaging 3.4 points and 2.4 assists. The irony in the first round of facing former Knicks teammates Amar’e Stoudemire, Tyson Chandler and Raymond Felton, all of whom moved in the past year to the Mavericks, was not lost on Prigioni.

“I talked with STAT, how strange this situation a couple of months ago we were together in the Knicks locker room and now, look, playing in the first round in the West,’’ Prigoni said. “Playing against old teammates, I don’t like it. I have special relationship with all of them. It was fun to see them again but I’m happy to beat them.’’

Prigioni felt comfortable in Houston right away, even if his playing time was scarce at first.

“When I arrived to the team, the way the team is playing, it reminded me of my first year in New York,’’ said Prigioni, who started the last 19 games in 2012-13 as the team went 17-2.

“We play fast with a lot of pick and rolls. I feel very comfortable playing that way. I try to add to the team a European style. I try to slow down the game when the team goes too crazy. I’m not a scorer or athletic, but I’m smart and try to read the game.’’

Prigioni said he may look to play one more pro season, but admitted it likely will be back in Spain. Then it’s on to coaching. He feels the triangle principles he absorbed were enlightening.

“It was a great experience, something I never played, and it was good because I want to try to coach,’’ Prigioni said. “I think I have it in my blood. Phil just started the job. To build a championship team, you can’t do it one year.’’