Sports

Mayweather’s toughest foe reveals how Pacquiao can win

WBC middleweight champion Miguel Cotto defends his title against Daniel Geale of Australia on June 6 at Barclays Center. The Puerto Rican star took time from training to sit down with The Post’s George Willis and offer his viewpoints on the Floyd Mayweather Jr.-Manny Pacquiao bout, having fought both fighters.

Pacquiao collected one of the best victories of his career when he earned a 12th-round TKO over you in November 2009. What do you remember most about that fight?

I had three good rounds in the beginning of the fight, and then he took advantage of a couple of mistakes I made in the fight.

Did his speed surprise you?

It’s his biggest asset. He knows how to use his speed. He knows how to combine his hand speed with his leg speed. He uses it well. It’s the best thing he can bring to the fight.

Pacquiao hasn’t had a knockout since he fought you. Has he lost his power?

I have nothing to say about it. He’s the one that knows about that.

Manny Pacquiao lands against a bloodied Cotto in 2009.AP

Whom are you picking to win the fight?

I don’t have a favorite for Saturday night. But I think if Pacquiao can take Floyd out of his comfort zone with his speed, he’ll have a good chance to beat Floyd Mayweather.

You lost a 12-round decision (118-110, 117-111, 117-111) to Mayweather in May 2012. What was your gameplan going in?

That’s what I mentioned. I tried to take him out of his comfort zone. He did everything he could to put things his way and be on top of anything you have for him. My gameplan was good until round No. 9. That’s when he took advantage of the fight.

Mayweather has mentioned his fight against you has been his toughest during his reign as the pound-for-pound champ. What’s your reaction to that?

I bring my best in every opportunity I have, and I had that opportunity against Mayweather.

Why do you believe Mayweather-Pacquiao has captivated the sporting public the way it has?

The world has been asking for this fight for the last five or six years. Everybody has the right to know who is the best in our sport.

You’ve been in the ring with both fighters. Who in your opinion packs the most power behind his punches?

They both have power. Mayweather doesn’t choose to go with power, but he has power. Manny, because of his speed, creates power with his punches.

Cotto is set to defend his belt in June at Barclays Center.Getty Images for Roc Nation

Freddie Roach, Pacquiao’s longtime trainer, is now your trainer. What impact do you think he will have in the Mayweather-Pacquiao fight?

I know how much enthusiasm and work Freddie put into this fight. I think, because of what Freddie brings to the game, he’ll guide Manny to where he can get the victory. It’s up to Manny. But Mayweather is not easy to solve. He’s a difficult opponent.

Do you think the fight will go the distance, or are you expecting a stoppage or knockout?

Mayweather is not recognized for being a knockout guy. Manny for the last six years hasn’t had a lot of knockouts. I think it’s going to be a decision fight.

What do you hope this fight does for boxing in general?

Manny and Floyd have a big responsibility on their hands. If they want to fight, we’re probably going to see one of the biggest fights in our time. But if they don’t want to prove themselves against each other, we’re not going to see a great fight. It’s in their hands.

Where will you watch the fight?

I’m in Los Angeles training for my fight on June 6. I’m going to watch it at our house here.