NFL

NFL blockbuster: Seahawks acquire Jimmy Graham

The Nick Foles-Sam Bradford trade overshadowed the day’s other earth-shaking move, the Saints’ baffling decision to send Pro Bowl tight end Jimmy Graham to the Seahawks for center Max Unger.

Money appeared to drive the move, as New Orleans has by far the league’s worst cap situation (the Saints began Tuesday $4 million over the $143.2 million ceiling), but that didn’t make it any less jaw-dropping.

“I’m as shocked as everyone else,” Drew Brees told the NFL Network. “I love the guy.”

There’s certainly a lot to love, even though Graham’s numbers suffered last year because of injury.

Not only is the 6-foot-7, 280-pound Miami product a matchup nightmare and arguably the most dominant pass-catching tight end in a passing league, but Graham also is just 26 years old.

The trade looks like a winner for the Seahawks, although there could be some uncomfortable moments in the locker room when Graham arrives.

After all, it was just 15 months ago that Seattle defensive end Michael Bennett called Graham “soft” and “the most overrated player in the NFL” after a playoff victory over New Orleans.


Titans quarterback Jake Locker, a top-10 draft pick in 2011, retired from the NFL at the age of 26.

“I am retiring from football after much reflection and discussion with my family,” his statement read. “I will always be grateful for having had the opportunity to realize my childhood dream of playing in the NFL and for the lifelong relationships I developed because of that experience.

“Football has always played a pivotal role in my life and I love the game, but I no longer have the burning desire necessary to play the game for a living; to continue to do so would be unfair to the next organization with whom I would eventually sign. I realize this decision is surprising to many, but I know in my heart that it is the right decision and I look forward to spending more time with my family and pursuing other interests.”