MLB

Royals manager sick over ‘mass bee genocide’ before game

https://twitter.com/Royals/status/574682213989507073/

Usually a swarm of bees delaying a baseball game is just a good excuse to reference “Tommy Boy.”

But Royals manager Ned Yost wasn’t laughing after a beekeeper killed the hive delaying Kanas City’s Cactus League game against the Angels.

“I’ve seen it before,” Yost told the Kansas City Star, “but I’ve never seen mass bee genocide like that, though.

“All you have to do is get some smoke. … Trust me, I’m from the country. I live in the country. You take some smoke out there because the queen is in there somewhere, and you get a Shop-Vac and suck ’em all in and take ’em out to the parking lot and let them go. … They’re just honey bees, man. There’s a decline in honey bees. We need ’em.

“It was sad to see, but they had to do what they had to do.”