NBA

Minus Melo, Knicks’ three-game win streak ends in Charlotte

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — Grit and hustle can get you places but not to a fourth straight victory — or to 72 points.

Playing without Carmelo Anthony and starting point guard Jose Calderon, the Knicks were fielding one of the more obscure starting fives in their recent history. In addition, Amar’e Stoudemire suffered ankle and wrist sprains during the contest, rendering him ineffective and possibly out for the next couple of games.

Still, the Knicks led for nearly three quarters with Tim Hardaway Jr. pacing the club before they dropped a 76-71 decision to the Hornets at Time Warner Cable Arena, ending their three-game winning streak. Anthony rested his sore left knee on the second night of a back-to-back.

“I had a group of guys out there that have never been in that situation together at least,” coach Derek Fisher said. “There were five guys out there [who] need to have a feel for each other.”

It was a brutal offensive contest and the Knicks were awful down the stretch. Hardaway lit it up for 25 points, but tried an ill-advised 3-pointer with 15 seconds left and the club down three, missing the rim entirely. Cole Aldrich chased down the offensive rebound, but threw it out of bounds on a pass intended for Thomas, ending the Knicks’ bid.

Anthony counseled Hardaway after the miss, with Hardaway admitting he shouldn’t have rushed the shot as the team could have held for a final shot.

“It was a terrible play on my part,’’ Hardaway said. “I have to know the time and score in that situation.’’

Lance Thomas continued to show he can be something of an offensive threat, scoring 16 points on 7-of-14 shooting, but there wasn’t enough else as the Knicks, who led 37-36 at halftime, finished the night shooting 35 percent to 32.9 for Charlotte.

The Knicks started all three of their players on 10-day contracts, Langston Galloway, Thomas and Lou Amundson, who fouled out.

Galloway, who has had a magic touch, didn’t shoot well (5-for-13, 11 points) and committed a costly turnover, his pass intercepted by Brooklyn native Lance Stephenson for a layup and 69-64 lead for Charlotte with 4:30 left.

Galloway huddled with assistant coach Kurt Rambis in the locker room.

“I definitely showed I was a rookie tonight,’’ Galloway said. “I just want to learn and get better from it.’’

The Knicks also were hurt by Stoudemire’s play. But he had an excuse after spraining his ankle in the first half and finishing 0-for-5 with one point. The Knicks’ bench mustered seven points as they fell to 8-37, leaving them with the second-worst record in the league.

“I suffered a sprained ankle and sprained right wrist,’’ Stoudemire said. “It was a lot of physical contact out there. A lot of my moves attacking the basket, I got swiped down on it, caught my wrist almost every time. I tried to play through it but I was struggling. I couldn’t be myself out there.’’

Amundson fouled out with 3:03 left with seven points, eight rebounds and four assists. Instead of

Stoudemire entering, Aldrich came in and the Knicks’ play suffered. Fisher said Stoudemire was available, but he felt he had no rhythm.

Stoudemire said it was better off he sat.

“At that point I couldn’t do much. My ankle was throbbing and getting stiffer,’’ Stoudemire said. “I knew I couldn’t be beneficial out there.’’