NFL

Rex praises Jets offense — then realizes that’s a joke

At one point in his press conference Wednesday, coach Rex Ryan sounded like he may have been inhaling plane fumes.

Ryan, speaking about his offense, said he feels good about the personnel the team has right now.

“I’m not so sure I’d want to try to defend against this offense,” Ryan said. “It presents a lot of problems for you. And I think our thing, I feel good that our identity would be we’re able to run the football but we’re also able to put pressure on you on the outsides. I think now so more than ever.”

That offense scored 10 points last week in Kansas City. It is ranked 25th in the NFL in total offense, 32nd in passing offense.

When it was pointed out that it was crazy to say he feels good about an offense that is 32nd in passing, Ryan joked that fans might fly a banner calling for his firing after doing that for general manager John Idzik on Wednesday.

“I don’t feel good about being 32nd in the league in passing. No, you’ve got to be kidding me,” Ryan said. “I can just imagine what the [banner] is going to look like tomorrow up there. It’ll have somebody else’s name on it. But I look at it this way, I think from adding Percy [Harvin] in, now the fact Marty’s had a couple weeks now to be around him and really have him work into what we have, I think we’re going to be pretty darn good offensively. We move the ball.

“Again, it’s still the red zone, coming up short in the red zone and critical situations and that’s what we’re going to keep working on. I think we’re close to having that kind of offense where we can run the football and also be a factor in the passing game. When I say that, I like our talent.”


DE Muhammad Wilkerson, DT Sheldon Richardson and RT Breno Giacomini all missed practice with illness. … CB Darrin Walls (calf) also did not practice. Ryan said it does not look like Walls will play Sunday.


Harvin was stepped on in practice and injured his heel. He was limited. Harvin said later the injury is not significant. … QB Geno Smith threw 60 passes and said he is hopeful he will be able to play, if needed, Sunday. Smith was inactive with a shoulder injury last week.