NBA

Travis Wear emerges as world’s most unlikely LeBron stopper

Travis Wear guards LeBron James during the Knicks’ upset win in Cleveland.Getty Images

A week ago, Travis Wear didn’t know what his basketball future had in store for him.

But after completing his surprise ascent up the Knicks depth chart to making the final roster last weekend, Wear played 13 minutes in Thursday’s stunning 95-90 win over the Cavaliers in Cleveland – and even spent some time successfully defending LeBron James.

“Crazy, surreal,” Wear said afterwards in describing how the last week had been. “Making the team was unbelievable, and then being in your first NBA game [Wednesday] night and tonight, and playing extended minutes tonight in Cleveland’s opener … it’s one of those things where you don’t picture yourself being there seven days in the future.”

Wear, an undrafted free agent out of UCLA, was expected to be cut in training camp and assigned to the team’s new D-League affiliate in Westchester. Knicks president Phil Jackson even went so far as to say publicly Wear wasn’t someone in mind for the final 15-man roster.

But as time passed and Wear impressed, the Knicks made room for him, using draft picks to dump Travis Outlaw’s contract on Philadelphia and open up a roster spot. Then Knicks coach Derek Fisher didn’t hesitate to throw Wear into the fire in Cleveland, one of several moves that worked out in Thursday’s win.

“Travis Wear was a player who we didn’t know he’d be with us a month ago, the minutes he had on the floor were solid, and that was the difference tonight,” Fisher said. “Everybody gave us something and that’s what we need every night.”

Wear said he had no idea he would be participating so much against the Cavaliers.

“He gave me no indication I would play that much,” Wear said, “but when my number was called, I had to be ready.”

It’s early, but after an impressive first month with the Knicks, Wear is understandably confident about sticking in the Knicks rotation.

“I’m definitely confident,” he said. “My shooting is something I’ve always had, and I’m always going to have in my back pocket.

“Again, I’m not coming into the game searching for shots. I’m coming into the game trying to run the triangle offense, play defense and if I’m open and I have a shot, I have a shot.”