NFL

Lions tight end has adorable alibi for injury

Well, this it is certainly a cuter reason than the alternatives.

Lions tight end Joseph Fauria missed Sunday’s win over the Jets after spraining his ankle earlier in the week. There were reports suggesting it happened playing volleyball with friends or while he was out at a bar. Instead Fauria said it was Lil’ Rufio’s fault. Lil’ Rufio is Fauria’s 3-month-old Pomeranian/Husky mix.

“He was about to pee and I was like, ‘Come here you little … nugget,'” Fauria said Monday, according to ESPN.com. “And I was chasing him downstairs. I wasn’t running but I was chasing him downstairs and I just misstepped and I reached with my left foot and I just didn’t end up well.”

Some things to know about the dog: He’s adorable and has his own Instagram account.

Fauria denied it happened at a volleyball event he had attended Wednesday evening, or while playing any other sport or activity.

“I heard footgolf, basketball, lewd activities as well,” Fauria said. “I’m no stranger to rumors. I did get suspended from a school and I know those rumors were around, too. I’m no stranger to it, but I was there supporting my friends and it happened two hours after.”

Fauria neglected to give a timeline for his return.

And here’s one more photo, just because.