NBA

Best answer from NBA media day: ‘Somebody in Spain tried to kill me’

It turned out to be lost in translation, but it was still an entertaining answer from Celitcs center Vitor Faverani.

The Brazilian import was asked about his alleged drunk driving arrest in Spain this offseason.

“There’s no truth,” Faverani told reporters at Celtics media day. “Somebody in Spain tried to kill me, but he can’t. So there’s nothing of it. I’m here, you know? Everybody knows in Spain: There’s no truth. So I don’t care about that.”

Faverani would go on to explain that he didn’t mean literally kill, but smear his name, which makes a lot more sense.

The original report from Aug. 4 in the La Opinión de Málaga stated Faverani was arrested in Spain for driving while being three times over the legal blood alcohol limit. The report indicated the 26-year-old ran a red light and collided with a bus, though no one was hurt.

Faverani did not deny the accident, but said that alcohol was not involved. Celtics president of basketball operations Danny Ainge is considering a punishment. Faverani said nothing has come of it, yet.

“I’m talking a lot with [Celtics director of player personnel Austin Ainge], and he asked me if there’s truth or no. I said no, there’s no truth,” Faverani said. “He talked with my people in Spain, they say it’s not true. … The people high above me believe me, and that’s all.”

Faverani played in 37 games last season, averaging 4.4 points per, before tearing his meniscus in March.