MLB

Ron Washington admits adultery in odd press conference

When Ron Washington abruptly resigned as Texas Rangers manager on Sept. 5, he left few clues to the reasons behind his departure, other than saying he needed to “devote [his] full attention to addressing an off-the-field personal matter.”

At a brief and bizarre press conference Thursday in Dallas, a despondent Washington began to shed light on his distress. He confessed to adultery, then walked away from the podium without taking questions.

“I was not true to my wife after 42 years. I broke her trust,” Washington said. “I’m here today to own that mistake and to apologize to her and to those I disappointed and those who have trusted in me.”

And the reaction of a jaded sports culture was more or less: That’s it? 

Rangers general manager Jon Daniels had previously gone on the record saying Washington’s exit was not related to drugs. Washington kept his job after admitting to cocaine use in 2009.

At no point did Washington directly connect his infidelity with leaving his job in the Rangers dugout, though he offered profuse apologies to his players, coaches and the entire Texas organization.

“I made a mistake and I’m embarrassed more than I’ve ever been in my life,” Washington said. “All I ask for is your forgiveness and your understanding. I also ask that you respect our privacy. This matter is certainly personal and we’re trying to put it behind us.”

Washington left open the possibility of returning to baseball: “I look to the future and getting back in the game and continue my career.”