Metro

Family of five dies in tragic car accident

An entire Brooklyn family was killed in a devastating car accident late Saturday night when their vehicle swerved off a Long Island highway and plowed into a tree.

Myriam Lebraun, 37, was driving home with her kids from a family get-together at around 11 p.m. when she veered off the Southern State Parkway and crashed, and the car burst into flames, State Police said.

Lebraun, her mother, Yolande Moise, 68, and children, Marcus Gean­ty, 14, Marcel Gean­ty, 9, and Kayla Gean­ty, 8, were all pronounced dead at the scene.

“Why? Why? Why?” wailed the kids’ devastated grandfather, Geane Robert Lebraun, outside their Flatbush home.

“They are already dead. What can I do but try to survive? I saw them two weeks ago. I talked with my daughter, played with the children. Right now, I’m going over to mourn [with] what’s left of my family.”

The youngest victim, Kayla, was ejected. The four others were trapped in the fire, officials said.

“All of them! My God! I can’t believe all her children are gone!” said Marlene Thomas, 38, a neighbor and friend of the family.

“We live together, go out together, cook together. My daughter plays with Kayla every day! I can’t believe this.”

Neighbors said the family was coming from a visit to their aunt in Babylon.

It was not clear Sunday what made the car swerve off the highway.

Myriam Lebraun moved to the United States from Haiti when she was 17.

She recently graduated from Kingsborough Community College and was a social worker.

She was divorced, and the children’s father lives in Georgia.