NFL

Jets owner won’t commit to Rex

Jets owner Woody Johnson declined to say whether coach Rex Ryan is fighting for his job this season or safe for 2014, when he would be in the final year of his contract.

“We’re not going to discuss the evaluation of coaches during the season,” Johnson said. “We do that after the season.”

Johnson would not even say Ryan will be allowed to coach this entire season. Johnson did praise Ryan’s coaching ability. Earlier this year, he called him the “perfect” coach for the Jets.

“I still believe that,” Johnson said. “He’s a great coach, good teacher, good leader, has a good sense of humor and he’s in a good frame of mind. I’m very happy with Rex.”

Johnson said he feels good about his team as the season begins.

“My confidence level is the same as it always is every first game,” Johnson said. “ I’m optimistic we’re going to win the game. I’ve never in 14 years gone into a game thinking we’ll lose that game. I’m optimistic, very optimistic.”