NFL

Cruz practices, tests heel, says he’s on schedule to play in opener

Victor Cruz knew he had to test himself Monday, his first day back on the practice field after suffering a bruised heel Aug. 18 in a preseason game against the Colts. And so, Cruz made a move he figured would let him know if the left heel was still an issue.

“Going out there, running some routes,’’ Cruz said. “My main concern was those hard-breaking curls and really digging my foot into the ground. Ran a couple of those, and it didn’t feel bad at all. And it felt good to get out of them. And made a curl catch, and got a little bit of a burst out of it. And it felt good.’’

So good, in fact, that Cruz is certain he will take his place in the starting lineup on Sunday when the Giants open their season against the Cowboys.

“I’m actually more encouraged,’’ Cruz said. “Especially after going out there and running some routes out there, seeing how it feels. I’m more encouraged for week one and I’m excited to get out there. It feels better and better and I’m excited for week one.’’

Tom Coughlin said “He took as many reps as were planned for him today. It looked to me like he took half, maybe more.’’

Cruz said he is “a little ahead’’ of schedule in that the medical staff figured it might be another two weeks before he could play. “But I was diligent in the treatment room and at home doing, icing it and getting ready and things like that,’’ Cruz said.

In his first practice since hurting the heel, Cruz said “I was going full speed. I wasn’t holding anything back. I don’t play like that, I don’t practice like that. It’s hard to gauge yourself when you don’t go full speed like that. I just took my time and I was out there going full speed and it felt good.

“I did everything. We had three team periods. I did it all. They were kind of pulling the reins back, but I was trying to get more and more. I was itching man. I’ve been gone for a couple weeks. It sucks not even being out there for practice and things like that.’’