Sports

Petke: Red card of Red Bulls’ Sam was justified

Red Bulls coach Mike Petke has never shied away from physical defending or ripping the referees. But today he called the red card against Lloyd Sam – which clearly turned Sunday’s 3-0 loss in Philadelphia – a justified one.

“I really believe – and this may be one of the few times I don’t say something against the refs – it was a judgment call that, either way, would’ve been justified. I believe it was a bit justified that he did get a red card,’’ said Petke.

“Perhaps another ref in MLS, or around the world would’ve went the other way with a warning. But overall, he did show his cleats, the ref made the call and he is justified in that.”

Sam came in for a challenge on a 50/50 ball with Union midfielder Danny Cruz, and was shown a straight red.

“We saw the incident as a two-footed challenge by Lloyd Sam not in control of his body,’’ said referee Baldomero Toledo. “The assistant referee confirmed the challenge with visual signal and the player was sent off for serious foul play.”

Petke, who got fined $2,000 earlier this season for ripping the refs, admits the play turned the game but wouldn’t take the refs to task.

“My initial thoughts are gpoing by the laws of the game or whatever, he did show his studs. I don’t think it was vicious. I think they both went down into something. It was a judgement call by the ref that either way could be justified,’’ said Petke. “If you look at the replay, I didn’t initially go crazy on the red card. I was angry and upset. But looking at it now, it’s honestly not even in my head.”