NFL

Sanchez throws three INTs, Smith also struggles at Jets workouts

There was a familiar sight during the Jets’ first practice open to the media – Mark Sanchez throwing interceptions.

Sanchez threw three picks during the session Wednesday, kicking off the competition with rookie Geno Smith for the starting job. Neither quarterback looked good and the entire offense looked dismal.

Sanchez went 6-for-11 with three picks and one sack, while Smith completed 3-of-10 passes with one interception and a sack. Top receivers Santonio Holmes and Stephen Hill did not practice due to recovery from surgeries, leaving both quarterbacks working with a cast of unproven and inexperienced receivers, which led to some of the problems.

“I’ve got to be confident in what I’m doing, know I’m making the right decisions, putting the ball in the right spot,” Sanchez said. “If the guy’s there or not there, I can’t fix that. I’ve just got to be on my game and trust that the coaches and everybody will see that and they will.”

Sanchez was intercepted on an overthrow by cornerback Antonio Cromartie, a forced throw by defensive lineman Damon Harrison and a throw into double coverage by safety Jaiquan Jarrett. Smith’s lone interception was on a tipped pass that appeared to hit the ground but was ruled an interception by linebacker Garrett McIntyre.

“A couple of those throws I want back,” Sanchez said. “Of all people, freakin’ Snacks (Harrison), that’s like your worst nightmare. But I was just trying to make a play, that’s one of those things where I should pull the ball down and run or something. I’m shaking the rust off a little bit, getting back into the swing of things, especially with a lot of young guys.”

Sanchez seems genuinely enthused about new offensive coordinator Marty Mornhinweg’s system.

“I just really feel like this coaching staff will get the best out of me,” he said.

He said he’s not worrying about the competition, his first since his rookie year.

“I don’t know if it feels different,” he said. “I’m competing against the defense. I’m competing to make plays and get first downs. It’s not like Geno’s on the other side of the field and we’re throwing the ball against each other. I don’t really think about it that way. I’ve played long enough now that I don’t really worry about the quarterback on the other side of the field or the quarterback in competition with you. It just doesn’t really bother me.”

Sanchez and Smith took just about the same number of reps. Sanchez worked with the first team. Matt Simms worked with the third team and Greg McElroy with the fourth. … Holmes was on the field but did not participate. He had foot surgery last October. DT Antonio Garay, CB Dee Milliner and WR Jordan White also did not practice. G Willie Colon did not do team drills.