Sports

Kellogg dreams of sonny days

“Dad, Tell Cbs To Send You To NASHVILLE.”

That was the message Nick Kellogg sent to his dad Clark after finding out where his Ohio team would be going for last year’s NCAA Tournament. It’s where Nick’s Bobcats pulled upsets over Michigan and USF on their way to a surprising Sweet 16 run. CBS opted not to unite the family and Clark had to follow his son’s team on his iPad.

“Obviously, I don’t control that and I found out a couple of hours later we weren’t going there. So, it was reconciled in my mind from Selection Sunday on,” the older Kellogg said.

He is hoping for a similar text from his son this year, but first Ohio has to reach the NCAA Tournament. The Bobcats have a bye into tonight’s MAC semifinal and need two wins to get the automatic bid. Kellogg said if his son is playing on a different day than the games he will call, he would try to travel there.

“If you ask my son, he’d want me to be calling the game,’’ Kellogg said. “If it happened that way, I’d wrestle with it and it’d be hard and I’d try to do the best I could with it.”