NHL

Boyle to be healthy scratch for Rangers vs. Islanders

By his demeanor, it seemed like Brian Boyle knew this was coming.

The Rangers’ big-bodied center will be a healthy scratch when the Islanders come into the Garden Thursday night, culminating Boyle’s drastic fall off since his concussion in the first round of the playoffs last season.

“Don’t say sorry,” Boyle said, “it’s nobody’s fault but mine.”

Coach John Tortorella has been overtly critical of some of his players through the 4-5-0 start to this season, but he has sparingly used names. After Tuesday’s 3-1 loss to the Devils, he said, “we have some guys that look scared to me, and tentative.” It wasn’t much of a shock he was talking about Boyle, who will now watch from the press box.

“I’m just not playing well right now,” Boyle said. “I’m making mistakes, and everybody makes mistakes, but I’m not contributing enough or playing to where I can play to.”

It has become a crowded house up front, as well, with rookie Chris Kreider back after missing five games with an ankle injury and 19-year-old J.T. Miller showing serious promise in his NHL debut on Tuesday.

With captain Ryan Callahan also set to return Thursday from his partially dislocated left shoulder, Tortorella has chosen Boyle as the odd man out.

“He’s going to put the guys out there that can help win the game,” Boyle said. “I think he wants me to be better, I think he wants me to play better, I think he knows I can play better.

“The way I look at it is, he’s talked to me, he’s coached me in different strategies, in ways to get me going, and this is just another way of doing it. I know I’ve got to be better. It sucks, but it is what it is.”

***

With Callahan seemingly back in the lineup, Tortorella blew up his mega-line at the morning skate and switched things around.

The top two lines were Taylor Pyatt-Brad Richards-Marian Gaborik, and Rick Nash-Derek Stepan-Carl Hagelin. The two youngsters, Kreider and Miller, were flanked on the right by Callahan, and the fourth line was Arron Asham-Jeff Halpern-Darroll Powe.

***

Workhorse defenseman Dan Girardi is expected to miss his second straight game with an undisclosed lower-body injury. The team said he’s “day-to-day” as the result of being “banged up.” That left the defensive pairs as Ryan McDonagh-Steve Eminger, Anton Stralman-Marc Staal, and Michael Del Zotto-Matt Gilroy.

When the team did line rushes Stu Bickel and Boyle skated next to each other on defense. They both stayed out on the ice for extra work, signifying their scratched status.

***

Henrik Lundqvist looks to be getting his ninth start in the first 10 games.

bcyrgalis@nypost.com