Sports

GK Bill Gaudette could supplant rookie star Ryan Meara

Journeyman keeper Bill Gaudette has been nothing short of a revelation for the Red Bulls while Ryan Meara has been injured, and was stellar again in keeping tonight’s 2-1 loss to Tottenham close. He’s played well enough that he’ll definitely challenge Meara for the starting job – if he hasn’t already outright win it.

“The way he’s been playing, he’s been 100 percent for us, playing great absolutely outstanding,’’ said coach Hans Backe. “Even when we lost in Montreal, he was our best player. Let’s see now. Ryan still has problems with his hips; we just have to wait and see until he’s back. But definitely Billy is a guy who will be a possibility or a choice as a first goalie.’’

Gaudette – acquired on July 13 from the defending MLS Cup champion Los Angeles Galaxy in a trade at the same time Meara’s hip started hurting – made four saves tonight, include spectacular ones to rob Gareth Bale and Aaron Lennon.

“The guys in front of me are doing a lot of hard work,’’ said Gaudette, a St. John’s grad. “I have ten guys in front of me. I’m happy to be a part of the team. The guys in front of me do all the hard work, and I’m just happy to be here.’’

And that includes even if he has to go back to the bench when Rookie of the Year candidate Meara returns. But the way he’s playing – debuting in a 2-2 draw vs. Seattle, then keeping clean sheets against Chicago and Philadelphia before last weekend’s loss in Montreal – he may not come out of the lineup.

“I’m just a pro, that’s what you do, you go out and you play hard every day,’’ said Gaudette. “Every guy here expects to be playing and they want to play. So it’s not something you worry about, the 11 or whatever. You just go out there and if you’re name is on the board you go play.

“That’s our job, that’s what we’re all here to do. When my name is on the board, I’m ready to go. I train hard every day and that’s when you get some reward in the end.’’