NBA

Lin says he would have ‘preferred’ to stay with Knicks

Jeremy Lin still loves New York.

The point guard told SI.com that ideally he would have stayed with the Knicks, who decided not match the Rockets’ back-loaded offer sheet for Lin.

“Honestly, I preferred New York,” Lin told the website. “But my main goal in free agency was to go to a team that had plans for me and wanted me. I wanted to have fun playing basketball. … Now I’m definitely relieved.”

In a statement released Wednesday through the Rockets, Lin said he “loved this past year with the Knicks and truly appreciate the opportunity that New York gave me.” He called his brief stint in New York “extraordinary” and “unforgettable.”

Sources said the Knicks would match any offer for Lin and coach Mike Woodson had claimed that the 23-year-old would “absolutely” be back with the team and starting over newly signed veteran Jason Kidd. But when the Rockets changed their offer sheet for Lin, making the third year worth $14.9 million, which would have cost the Knicks $43 million in luxury taxes, the team balked. That night former Knicks point guard Raymond Felton told a South Carolina television station that he was headed to the Knicks in a sign-and-trade, and Lin was likely going to the Rockets.

“Felton’s signing was the first time when I thought, ‘Oh, wow, I might not be a Knick,'” Lin said.

That became official when the Knicks released a statement on Tuesday night saying that they would not match the offer sheet. Lin got a call from Knicks general manager Glen Grunwald telling him the news.

“We wanted to keep you, but it couldn’t work out. Tell your family I say hello, and good luck the rest of the way,” is what Lin said about Grunwald’s words to him.

Lin became a sensation when he resuscitated the Knicks season in February when he led an incredible 8-1 run at a time when Amar’e Stoudemire was mourning the death of his brother and Carmelo Anthony was out with a groin strain.

“I love the New York fans to death,” Lin said. “That’s the biggest reason why I wanted to return to New York. The way they embraced me, the way they supported us this past season, was better than anything I’ve ever seen or experienced. I’ll go to my grave saying that. What New York did for me was unbelievable. I wanted to play in front of those fans for the rest of my career.”

Most of the backlash from beaten-down Knicks fans has been leveled at a franchise that has trained them to expect the worst. But some have criticized Lin for re-working an offer sheet with Houston after the Knicks had already told him they would match the original agreement. He also has received some negative attention for sitting out a torn meniscus, despite declaring his knee 85 percent.

“Every single vet on our team that has been in the league longer than five years pulled me aside and told me that I shouldn’t play,” Lin said of the five-game opening round playoff loss to the eventual champion Heat.

“And I had arguments with them about why I should . … People think it was easy for me to sit there and watch us lose, like I had nothing to do with the season. I was dying to play. I didn’t miss a game due to injury in seven years until this past season, and people are acting like I wouldn’t want to play in the playoffs? Of the NBA? In my first season?”

Lin got his first chance with the Knicks after being cut by the Warriors and Rockets in the offseason. Now he is returning to Houston as the star of a team that’s stripped itself of most of their assets to try and trade for Magic star Dwight Howard.

“A year ago, I was just trying to stay alive and fight day by day, just to be on a roster,” said Lin, whose three-year deal totals $25.1 million. “What I have now is way more than I ever would have dreamed of, and way more than I need.”