Sports

Phil-ing good after 2nd round

AUGUSTA, Ga. — Phil Mickelson asked one thing of himself entering the second round of the Masters yesterday: Get into position for a weekend run at another Green Jacket.

He has played a sketchy 2-over-par opening round, but didn’t play himself out of the tournament. He spoke Thursday about posting a round in the 60s in the second round to position himself to win a fourth Green Jacket.

Mickelson did just that, carding a 4-under 68 to move to 2-under for the tournament, a very reachable three shots out of the lead.

MASTERS LEADERBOARD

After pausing on the ninth hole to give his dad a hug outside the ropes, Mickelson ended his round with a birdie on the 18th hole for the second consecutive day.

“I played well and shot something in the 60s that got me back in the tournament,’’ he said. “I was hoping for one or two more under, but that birdie on 18 felt terrific to finish that way, and to be only 3 back now heading into the weekend feels great, too — especially after the first 10 holes [Thursday].’’

Mickelson looked rattled after the first round, saying he made some uncharacteristic poor decisions. He righted those wrongs yesterday.

“The biggest thing for me was strategically I didn’t miss the ball in the wrong spot,’’ he said. “If I got into some trouble or hit some poor shots, they are on the proper side where I could still get up”‘-and”‘-down and let my short game salvage strokes, which I did fairly well today.’’

Now Mickelson said he is poised to continue his run into the weekend.

“I feel like Saturday is the day you can really make a move,’’ Mickelson said. “Sunday you kind of cherish the back nine and it’s exciting, but I feel like Saturday is the day you have got to play well to get yourself in position. It will be a critical day to get myself in a spot where I don’t have to make you up too much ground from the leaders.”

Mickelson’s confidence in his putting is palpable, which buoys his hopes.

“I’m putting really well, I mean, I’m really putting well,’’ he said. “You haven’t heard me say that in a while.’’