Entertainment

Ask Ashley: Get decked out to do it

I love my beard. Unfortunately, my girlfriend does not. In fact, it’s a huge point of contention. I’m starting to think it’s really putting a rift in between us. I’d shave it off, but my bigger concern is that my girlfriend only likes me when I look a certain way. How can I approach the subject?

Dan, 27, Williamsburg

It’s not just a point of contention, it’s one of irritation! Trust me on that.

While I sympathize with you and your connection to your beard, I have to say that I’m definitely in your girlfriend’s corner here.

I can’t stand facial hair. It has nothing to do with the look of it, either. Facial hair just hurts! It can cause soreness when kissing. I don’t know how grown in your beard is exactly, but let’s go through a couple of the most obvious negatives here.

Have you ever walked around the city in sandals? When you take off your sandals, your feet are black. Imagine what gross-out stuff makes its way into your beard every day!

I know it’s the same thing for the hair on your head, but head hair isn’t smooching your girlfriend’s lips or kissing her body all over. Bottom line: I think beards are dirty, especially if you live in the city.

Here’s another thing: How would you feel if you wanted silky softness on your lady’s parts but got hairy roughness instead?

Many, many men don’t like pubic hair at all. If you’re one of them, it’s time for a little quid pro quo.

I doubt the beard has anything to do with your girl wanting you to look a certain way, really. That sounds a little like your male ego kicking in and not wanting to feel controlled. It’s not about that.

Shave the thing off for everybody’s sake, including for the sake of your own personal hygiene.

My husband and I enjoy role play, but we’ve tired of the obvious choices. School teacher and student? Been there. Nurse and patient? Done that. Cops, firemen, cowboys and Indians are all old news. Please help us step outside the box.

Michelle, 41, Chelsea

Wow! It sounds like you’ve already stepped outside of the box! That’s an impressive list of characters.

Here’s what comes to mind: Go on a Halloween Web site and get the entire list of characters for which they sell costumes. You’ll add couple get-ups like Batman and Catwoman or the Big Bad Wolf and Little Red to your closet of tricks. Write all your new additions on slips of paper. Every time you want to get on a role, blindly pick a suggestion from a box for a saucy surprise.

I would also suggest making a list of all the famous couples you like. Again, write down their names and add them to that box.

Who knows if you are going to be Aladdin and Jasmine or Brad Pitt and Angelina? I think this gives role-playing a whole new meaning.

And, hey, you will never look at those celebs the same way again!

HAVE A QUESTION? E-MAIL ASHLEYDUPRE@NYPOST.COM AND FOLLOW HER ON TWITTER AT @ASHLEYDUPRE