Metro

Man sues B’klyn chicken joint after nearly choking on wire

Now that’s a real bird on a wire.

A bus driver is suing a Brooklyn chicken joint saying he nearly choked on a strand of wire embedded in a piece of fried chicken.

City bus driver Lajzer Grynsztajn, 50, grabbed two breasts and French fries at JFK Chicken on Fifth Avenue near his depot in Sunset Park during a lunch break earlier this month, the Brooklyn civil suit says.

But when he bit into one of the breasts he experienced a stabbing pain in his throat.

”I thought I was choking on a bone,” Grynsztajn said.

The counterman asked him if he was OK and Grynsztajn replied, “I think so, I just have to get out of here.”

The counterman then told him, “OK, give me $5 for the chicken,” Grynsztajn recalled.

Grynsztajn went back to his depot where he tried to cough up the offending item.

“If this blocks my airway, I’m going to pass out and they’ll find me dead on the floor,” the divorced father-of-three recalled thinking. “The more I think about it, the angrier I get. I almost died for something stupid like that.”

Grynsztajn’s bosses sent him to the hospital, where doctors discovered he had swallowed two strands of metal that had to be removed surgically, according to the lawsuit.

“It’s lucky they caught it before he got back on his bus,” said Grynsztajn’s lawyer Michael N. David. “It could have really been a catastrophe.”

The suit seeks unspecified damages for Grynsztajn’s injuries, lost time from work and ongoing trauma.

“Now I don’t eat out anymore,” Grynsztajn said.

JFK Chicken has a “grade pending” status based on a December Health Department inspection in which it was hit with 25 points of violations, according to city records.

A man answering the phone at the fast food shop dismissed Grynsztajn and the lawsuit, calling the bus driver “a pain in the ass.”

“It never happened,” the chicken man said. He’s bull—–ing.”