NBA

Nets coach takes sneak peek in Brooklyn

With the NBA lockout stretching into winter and a deal nowhere in sight, Nets coach Avery Johnson said yesterday that after 34 seasons the Nets may never play in New Jersey again.

“That’s big because when we signed up, we signed up to be there and give them the type of celebration they deserve while we’re transitioning,” said Johnson, who was serving as coach for the day of the Ronald Edmonds Learning Center Middle School 113 boys basketball team in Brooklyn, located less than a mile from the Barclays Center. “Not to be able to give them the type of celebration they deserve, that is a little disappointing. It’s just nothing I can control.”

Johnson’s presence was unbeknownst to the team, who were instructed by the “Little General” for more than an hour. He expressed his joy in the opportunity, saying there were no words to describe how much he misses the game, especially since this may be the only coaching he does all year.

“Until further notified, yes,” Johnson said when asked about his concern of that possibility. “My life right now is doing the stuff we did today, finding other ways to get involved in the community and attending my son’s games. I’ve gotten a chance to watch more college games than I ever have.”

Should the entire season be canceled, Johnson said he will contribute in other areas he would not get the chance to during a season.

“I’m going to get on the scouting circuit because whenever you start again you’re still going to have to draft, eventually have to do all the things we normally do,” Johnson said. “I’ll go and scout more in college, see more of the kids myself and once our scouts and [general manager] Billy [King] get together, when I give some of my input and reviews we’ll see how it compares.”