Sports

Sessa’s big summer leads to Iona College scholarship

Joe Sessa wasn’t thinking about Division I baseball at the start of the summer. He wasn’t even thinking about college baseball of any kind.

The Tottenville outfielder just wanted to get his confidence back after he was benched for the Pirates’ run to the PSAL Class A city championship game. So he took a week off.

“That week I did nothing,” he recalled. “I mentally prepared myself [for summer baseball]. I reset myself.”

The break paid major dividends. Sessa, a speedy 6-foot-1 center fielder with above-average speed and an improving bat, enjoyed a breakout summer with the Richmond County Baseball Club. He gained Division I interest from a series of schools and recently verbally committed to Iona College, fulfilling a lifelong goal. The 17-year-old Tottenville native picked the Gaels over Rider and Adelphi.

“I never dreamed I would play Division I baseball, I just wanted to find a school,” said Sessa, whose older brother Nick is a junior right-hander at Albany. “I’m so happy.”

Sessa shined as a sophomore at Tottenville, starting every day in left field for the city champions. As a junior, he took over in center field, but struggled at the plate and was benched entering the playoffs. The most painful moment was the city title game, when Tottenville lost to George Washington and Sessa never got into the game.

“It’s the worst feeling sitting on the bench in the championship game,” he said. “I used it at motivation to get better; it pushed me really hard to get a Division I school.”

Sessa had confidence going into the summer with Richmond County. He was told by coach Mike Lopiparo he would be the starting centerfielder and leadoff man, whether he struggled or slumped. He got off to a quick start and his success snowballed. That continued this fall with Tottenville as Sessa batted third and even had the game-winning double in a win over powerhouse Xaverian.

“There isn’t one area of the game he can’t do,” said Lopiparo, who is also an assistant at Xaverian. “There are times when he can be a little more consistent, but he’s got upside in that he’s still getting better. He has extra-base power, has a good eye on the plate, draws a lot of walks, he has base-stealing potential. He might be the type who gets better in college.”

“During the summer I just relaxed,” Sessa added. “I realized in baseball you fail most of the time, you have to get back up. I wouldn’t get down on myself after at-bats.”

Sessa didn’t commit to Iona on the spot, though he thoroughly enjoyed his time at the New Rochelle campus. He stayed with center fielder J.T. Torres, a former Xaverian star he felt comfortable with, and felt a bond with the coaching staff.

“It’s my dream come true,” Sessa said.

zbraziller@nypost.com