Sports

Iona transfer Jones eligible to play

New Rochelle officially has its newest player.

The NCAA ruled yesterday that Lamont “Momo” Jones, the junior guard and Harlem native, who transferred to Iona in the spring, has been granted a hardship waiver and will be eligible to play for the Gaels this season.

Jones, who helped guide Arizona to the Elite Eight this spring, wanted to play closer to home, particularly to be near his family and ill grandmother.

“Family comes first,” Jones said in a release. “I’m excited to have the opportunity to play at Iona College this year with some tremendous players that I’ve known for awhile, but in the end, I’m happy to be home and happy to be able to help my family through this tough time. I’m grateful to the NCAA for granting the waiver which allows me to be nearer to my family.”

Jones, who averaged 9.7 points, 1.6 rebounds and 2.4 assists last season, will join forward Michael Glover and guard Scott Machado to enhance a team which won 25 games last season and were runners-up in the CIT postseason tournament.