Entertainment

My Chemical Romance drummer fired for stealing from band

AUBURN, Wash. — New Jersey rock band My Chemical Romance fired its drummer for allegedly stealing from the band, MTV.com reported Tuesday.

Michael Pedicone, who joined My Chemical Romance in 2010 as their third drummer, was kicked out of the band after a show last week in Auburn, Wash.

“The relationship between My Chemical Romance and Michael Pedicone is over,” guitarist Frank Iero said on the band’s website. “He was caught red handed stealing from the band.”

Iero did not specify what Pedicone allegedly stole. He said the drummer “confessed to police” about the theft, but the band “has no intention of pressing charges or taking this matter any further than we have to.”

After the incident, Pedicone tweeted, “What happened is more complicated than it sounds but I did make a mistake. It was never my intention to hurt this band or all of you … It was an error in judgment based on a whole other situation that’s way deeper but this does not define me.”

He was replaced by drummer Jarrod Alexander, who played with the band Saturday night in Salt Lake City. My Chemical Romance has not revealed whether Alexander will be a permanent member of the band or a temporary replacement.