NFL

Burress watches Jets practice; not worried about age

On his first day with the Jets all Plaxico Burress could do was watch.

Dressed in a long sleeve gray T-shirt, green shorts and a Jets visor, Burress watched his new teammates practice as the team opened training camp Monday. Per NFL rules, he can’t practice with the Jets until the new collective bargaining agreement is done, which will be no later than Thursday.

Burress expects big things when he does take the field.

“I would say that when I step out on this field Thursday and Friday it’s going to look like I’m 25,” said Burress, who turns 34 this month. “I feel that good physically. I think everybody’s going to be in for a little bit of a surprise when I do get back out there and do get back to doing some of the things that I’m doing. Everybody says they’re worried about me being my age but we’ll soon see.”

It sounds like fellow wide receiver Santonio Holmes helped land Burress for the Jets. Coach Rex Ryan and general manager Mike Tannenbaum approached Holmes after he signed his five-year deal last week and asked him about Burress. Holmes showed them his right wrist where he wears a bracelet that says “Free Plex AKA Black.” Holmes has worn the bracelet since Burress went to prison in 2009.

Holmes asked the Jets’ brass for Burress’ phone number.

“I called him that night and he was signed the next day,” Holmes said.

The Jets gave Burress a one-year, $3 million deal Sunday to play on the other side of Holmes. Burress said it was not about the money, although it is believed the Jets offered him the most guaranteed money.

“I didn’t really solely base it on the money,” he said. “I have a chance to compete for a championship and that’s what I’m here to do. If I was just in it for the money, I could have went somewhere else and played. That’s clearly not the case. I’m happy to be here. It feels right. I didn’t have to make any adjustments as far as moving or taking my kids out of school or all those situations. It was just a beautiful situation all around.”

Quarterback Mark Sanchez is also confident in Burress’ ability.

“He’s just somebody who has played so much football. He’s experienced,” Sanchez said. “He knows how to use his body to fight off defenders, great hands. He just has a high football IQ. … It’s a pleasure to have him. I want to throw to him as soon as we can.”