US News

Bizarre amnesia ma in UK

Naomi Jacobs went to bed a 32-year-old woman and woke up a 15-year-old girl.

She thought it was 1992, had no idea why she was on a king-sized mattress and not her pink bunk bed, and no longer knew her own 11-year-old son.

“When I woke up, I looked in the mirror and had the fright of my life when I saw an old woman with wrinkles staring back at me,” the British woman told the Daily Mail.

In 2008, she suffered from a transient global amnesia, a form of extreme memory loss that seems straight out of a soap opera.

She is now cured of the disorder.

More common in people between 56 and 75, the rare amnesia can be triggered by extreme emotional stress or physical trauma, experts say.

Like a reverse Rip Van Winkle, Jones said the present seemed strange to her, and new technology was just jarring.

“Facebook, Google and YouTube sounded like they were completely made up,” she said. “And the first time I saw my son, Leo, play on his Xbox and interact with the TV, I was so shocked I spat out my tea.”

Doctors worked with Jones to help her recover her lost memories.

“It has taken three years of hard work to piece most of my memory back together — and it just helps me to appreciate all I have,” she said.