MLB

Mets hire Ricciardi to assist Alderson

The Mets added another member to the front office, with former Toronto GM J.P. Ricciardi named Special Assistant to GM Sandy Alderson, the team announced today.

Ricciardi, 51, worked with Alderson in Oakland.

“J.P. brings a wealth of knowledge and a breadth of experience to the organization,” Alderson said in a statement. “I worked with him for over a decade in Oakland and I know first hand he��s a superb talent evaluator. He’ll be a tremendous resource in a variety of areas.”

Ricciardi, who worked for ESPN this season, will assist Alderson in all aspects of the baseball department.

“I couldn’t be more excited about being reunited with Sandy,” Ricciardi said. “We enjoyed tremendous success together in Oakland and it’s my goal to help duplicate that here with the Mets. As a former Met farm hand, it’s a double homecoming for me.”