Sports

Five observations about the Rangers

1. The clubhouse

It’s among the best around. And it’s apparently a reason why they’re in the ALCS.

“I would imagine that’s the one common denominator with all winning teams,” Michael Young said. “They always talk about how great it is to play with the guys sitting next to them. That’s the way it is with this group.”

Examples? Jeff Francoeur, C.J. Wilson, Elvis Andrus and Ron Washington are among the Rangers who stand out for their intelligence, humor, gregariousness and insight.

2. The mastery of Nick Swisher

He’s 1-for-7 with three strikeouts in the ALCS, and including the regular season, he’s 4-for-36 with 15 strikeouts against Texas this year.

3. C.J. Wilson out of the pen

Wilson, who’s slated to start Game 5, told me yesterday he could pitch in relief in a potential Game 6 or 7 as well. He warmed up in Game 4 and Game 5 of the ALDS after starting Game 2.

That would afford the Rangers not only a fifth lefty reliever but allow one of their best starters to affect three ALCS games.

4. Josh Hamilton’s bat speed

Said GM Jon Daniels, “I don’t know if he’s the most physically talented guy in the game, but he’s certainly in the discussion.” And Lance Berkman, who called Hamilton “a freak of nature,” added, “I’ve played a lot of first base. Very rarely am I uncomfortable when I have a glove. But he makes me uncomfortable.”

5. Elvis and Jose

Joe Girardi compares Andrus to Omar Vizquel, but I see similarities between Andrus and Reyes. Not just in terms of their positions, speed and lineup spot but even in their media interaction.

“Obviously Josie’s done it for a long time and got more power,” said Francoeur, who’s played with both, “but I’ll tell you, Elvis can wreak havoc on the basepaths and keep those guys guessing.”