NFL

Report: Revis plans to attend Jets minicamp; Mangold not sure

Darrelle Revis said today he will not skip Jets minicamp next week to protest his contract negotiations, NJ.com reports.

“I will be here,” Revis said after the final voluntary practice of the offseason. “I will be here on Monday. We’ll work it out.”

Revis skipped last Thursday’s practice amid reports he was very unhappy with the contract proposal the Jets offered him. The All Pro cornerback has said the Jets have promised to renegotiate his deal, which is set to pay him $1 million this season and could be worth $20 million more over the following two.

“We’re loyal as players,” Revis said. “I didn’t have to be here during voluntary camp. And I was. Because we sat down, me and Rex (Ryan), and I told him, ‘I want to be here.’ And I feel the contract is going to get done in the future. And I’ll be here, I’m one of the leaders on the team, and I don’t want to feel separated from my teammates.

“Yeah, it’s a little frustration, because you think they’ll move a little bit faster with things. But it’s a business, and it’s two sides thinking different things.”

Revis has said he wants to be the highest-paid cornerback in the NFL, which would require a contract worth approximately $16 million annually.

All-Pro center Nick Mangold said he’s “displeased” with how his negotiations are going and is unsure if he’ll sit out minicamp as a result. He is entering the final season of a five-year deal.

The mandatory minicamp is Monday through Wednesday. Training camp is scheduled for August.

With AP