Sports

Four of a kind: Knights enjoy largest signing class ever

National Signing Day is nothing new at Holy Cross HS. After all, this is where Kevin Ogletree went before starring at the University of Virginia and enjoying a stellar rookie season with the Dallas Cowboys.

Usually the event is somewhat muted, with one or two football players signing their National Letters of Intent. Officials at the Flushing school have the routine memorized by now.

But on Wednesday, four Knights participated in the ceremony, leaving Holy Cross officials to scramble to find a large enough space to accompany the players and their parents.

Chris Brathwaite (University of Virginia), Dean Marlowe (James Madison University), John Rose (Hampton University) and Dale Codrington (Bryant University) made up the largest class in Tom Pugh’s nearly four decades as head coach. They signed their paperwork in the school’s library.

“To have a day like this is really wonderful,” Pugh said. “We’ve never had more than two. This is a bonus year. Four guys signing is really great.”

Brathwaite verbally committed to Virginia in early July, but grew concerned when Al Groh was fired in late November after nine years at the helm.

Mike London was hired as Cavaliers coach after a successful stint at the University of Richmond. London and his entire coaching staff immediately put any fears Brathwaite might have had at ease.

“I felt comfortable with them,” Brathwaite said. “They were really excited, they watched my film and told me what they needed me to do. I trust in them so I stayed firm to my commitment to Virginia.”

Brathwaite, who was named the CHSFL’s top defensive player, was also relieved to hear that London plans to employ a 4-3 defense and is looking to use the 6-foot-3, 268-pound senior as defensive end.

“He’s strong, he’s athletic, [I’m] real excited about seing where he fits in this 4-3 scheme,” London said. “He’s all gung-ho about wherever we put him. He just wants to play.”

Brathwaite’s decision to attend Virginia keeps the pipeline from Queens to Charlottesville open. In addition to Ogletree, basketball standout Sylven Landesberg is currently a starter on the Cavaliers.

“That’s a good thing,” he said. “It seems like Virginia and Holy Cross has a good connection.”

Brathwaite travels two hours to school every day with Codrington from Brooklyn and now his parents will make the six-hour drive to Charlottesville on a fairly regular basis.

“I am very proud of him,” his father Charles said. “It’s a dream come true. This doesn’t happen all the time. We let him make his decision on where he wants to go and I think he’s going to do well.”

“If I could get him to clean his room I’d be even prouder,” his mother Yolanda quipped.

Marlowe verbally committed to James Madison in early August and proceeded to tear up the CHSFL this season. He led the league with a 111.23 quarterback rating, completing 62 percent of his passes for 1,500 yards and 15 touchdowns. He also rushed for 797 yards and 12 touchdowns and had five interceptions, including one returned for a 102-yard score.

The Division I-A schools that balked initially showed interest late, but Marlowe remained loyal to James Madison.

“During my official visit with the players and coaches I felt like it was another family,” Marlowe said. “They just took me right under their wing and I just felt great.”

As a result, the Dukes just might have the steal of the city in the 6-foot-2 defensive back.

“I think Dean has the best shot of all four of them to play on Sundays eventually if everything goes right,” Pugh said. “He’s already tall, but he’s going to be big. You put that kid at 210 [pounds] with that closing speed? He’s the best defensive back we’ve ever had here.”

Unlike his teammates, Codrington didn’t have his college choice made before the start of his senior season. Division I schools shied away from him because, at 6-foot, 200 pounds, he is an undersized linebacker.

However, the East New York native enjoyed a stellar season, earning the CHSFL’s top lineman award. Lafayette, College of the Holy Cross and Albany became interested.

“When the game was on the line, Dale was the kind of kid who came through,” Pugh said.

But it was Bryant, which recently made the jump from Division III to the Northeast Conference, that Codrington considered a fit. He went on an official visit Saturday, verballed on Sunday and signed Wednesday.

“They made me feel comfortable when I went up there,” he said. “It was a nice environment. I could see myself there for the next four years.”

The day was also special for Rose, who said he realized a dream when he put pen to his scholarship papers for Hampton University.

“Growing up as a child in Jamaica, Queens, you know a lot of New York City kids don’t get a lot of exposure to colleges,” Rose said. “For this to happen to me, I really have to say that God has blessed me.”

Rose was recruited as an athlete, he said, and said he’ll play wherever he can just to get on the field. He has additional motivation.

“I just want to be a role model for my little brother and sister to show them that it can be done,” Rose said.

dbutler@nypost.com