NFL

Merriman to Jets: ‘Bring your lunch’

SAN DIEGO — Shawne Merriman has heard all the talk this week. From Rex Ryan. From Bart Scott. From the TV pundits.

Somehow his Chargers, winners of 11 straight games and playing on their home turf, sound like underdogs in tomorrow’s AFC divisional playoff game.

“I think the way people are addressing this game is they’re going to come in and punch us in the mouth, period,” Merriman said. “We’ll see [tomorrow]. I’ve never been a big talker because Sunday reveals everything. Even [tomorrow] I won’t have too much to say unless my shoulder pads grow some lips.”

STEVE SERBY CHAT REWIND

REX RYAN’S GREATEST QUIPS

Merriman dismissed Scott’s claim that the Jets are like brawlers and the Chargers are boxers, insinuating the Jets will be the more physical team.

“All that’s [spit],” Merriman said. “That’s what it is — [spit], period. I don’t care too much for trash talking. I’ve never been like that. It’s going to be a heck of a game. They’re a heck of a ball club. They can play. We can play. It’s about, like I said, bringing your lunch.”

This is the end of a trying season for the 25-year-old linebacker. Merriman was arrested in September after TV personality Tila Tequila accused him of choking and restraining her. The charges were dismissed days later, but the incident caused a firestorm around Merriman.

“It kind of made me a little bit wiser about situations, just watch who you surround yourself with,” Merriman said. “Dealing with that it built my character even more from how I grew up. And making it out of tough situations I had growing up to where I am now and still having another step in life to realize that they’re still out there, still someone will try to bring you down for no apparent reason at all.”

Tequila also touched the Jets season. She was engaged to Casey Johnson, the late daughter of Jets owner Woody Johnson. Merriman said he did not know Casey, and has watched the bizarre aftermath of her death play out with Tequila filming videos and sending out messages on Twitter.

“Everybody shows themselves,” he said of Tequila. “I believe in karma and that’s just bad karma with all those things happening right now. I’m just so removed from that situation and happy to move on with my life.”

After dealing with that incident, Merriman has battled groin and foot injuries. The Chargers also asked him to play a different role on defense and his sack numbers have suffered. He has just four this year, after compiling double-digit numbers in his first three seasons.

“My defense understands what I do for us,” said Merriman, a free agent this winter. “This locker room understands what I do for them. As long as it’s appreciated in this room I feel good about it. That’s why I haven’t hung my head with people talking about my stats or what not. I was asked to do something this year I’ve never done in the league. That’s really to play all-around linebacker.”

Merriman has a tattoo on the left side of his neck that reads “Finish Strong.” That’s just what he’s trying to do after a difficult season.

brian.costello@nypost.com