Metro

Board Chair Bows Out After Three Years

It was outgoing Chairperson Dean Rasinya’s time to be in the spotlight.

At the December meeting of Community Board 10, a host of tributes poured in for Rasinya, who is passing the gavel after three terms at the board’s helm because of term limits.

Actually, Rasinya didn’t use the gavel an awful lot; nonetheless, one adorned a plaque presented to him by CB 10 District Manager Josephine Beckmann in tribute to his years steering the board.

Rasinya also received a plaque from City Councilmember Vincent Gentile, who remarked to board members gathered in the community room at Shore Hill, 9000 Shore Road, “We want to keep this guy around, don’t we?

“Everyone has said to me how much they appreciate your efforts,” Gentile went on. “I don’t think I could have had a better working relationship with the board and the chair.

“Everyone in this room is a leader, and he’s a leader among leaders,” Gentile concluded.

The board has accomplished a great deal in the past three years, noted Rasinya during his final chairperson’s report.

“I can’t believe how fast these three years went by,” he remarked. “Thanks to each and every board member, I can say I have enjoyed every moment of my chairmanship.”

CB 10’s new chairperson will be Joanne Seminara, who will commence her first term on January 1st.

hklein@cnglocal.com