Metro

Songstress Gloria Gaynor makes return to the parade

If you’re a foodie, we hear that the legendary Gloria Gaynor’s house is where you’ll want to feast on Thanksgiving.

With dishes like her pina colada cake (she admits “I made it up!”) and banana nut cake, made in honor of her mother using her recipe, Gaynor isn’t just a veteran of the music industry — she’s also a star in the kitchen.

For Gaynor, Thanksgiving is all about family.

And food. “I have several specialties. I have my stuffing, my big macaroni and cheese, my salad,” and of course the aforementioned desserts.

MAKE A DAY OF IT

OLIVER’S TWIST

FLOATING HOLIDAY

HOLDING ON

PARADE BY THE NUMBERS

Back in the States since Sunday, Gaynor was performing in Paris last week. Surely, she has many blessings to count, one being that this year is the 30th anniversary of her worldwide hit “I Will Survive.” She has certainly proved that she is an industry survivor.

This will be Gaynor’s second appearance in the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade. Her first, she told us, “was a long, long time ago. I think it was 1978. I was on the Doodlebug. It’s probably not even around anymore. I’ll never forget it, it was a great experience.”

When she’s not in the parade, she usually watches it on TV. This year, she’ll be riding atop a Macy’s float with lots of children. “I don’t know who else is performing this year,” she said, “but if they do it like they used to, they gather up at CentralPark and you can see everyone who’s in it.”

“I actually had a very spiritual experience last time I was in the parade. I’m really looking forward to doing it again this year.”