NFL

Sanchez: My bad

 We learn more about Mark Sanchez every day. One thing more certain than how he’ll bounce back from today’s five-interception meltdown in the Jets 16-13 overtime loss to the Bills is this: Sanchez is a standup athlete who doesn’t hide from his mistakes or make excuses for poor play.

“Just embarrassing day,’’ Sanchez called today. “We did a heck of a job on offense in the running game (318 rushing yards) and our defense played lights out and I just gave (the Bills) the win. Credit them for catching all those passes, because it was just a poor game accuracy wise with some misreads. I really let this team down. There’s no excuse for that.

“These coaches and my teammates put way too much time on this for this to be the result on Sunday. I’ve got to figure it out, work harder, work smarter and play a heck of a lot better.’’

Sanchez, who’d never played in weather this cold and windy, refused to blame the elements, saying, “I don’t think it affected me at all. To be perfectly honest, I don’t know if I can play any worse. The ball wasn’t slipping out of my hands and the weather wasn’t a factor when I’m making a wrong reads. The weather’s not a factor when I miss Dustin (Keller) wide open over the middle. The wind didn’t blow the ball to the defender. I threw it to the defender. It has nothing to do with the weather.’’

“There’s no way I could blame it on the weather. I really wish I could. It was totally my fault and I owe these guys a lot.’’

After the game, to a man, Sanchez’ teammates came to his defense, saying one player didn’t lose the game. Newcomer WR Braylon Edwards sat with Edwards for some 15 minutes in front of Sanchez’ locker consoling him.

“I don’t know how they do it,’’ Sanchez said. “It says a lot about how they feel about me and the kind of faith they have in me. So I have to perform.

“I’ve never played like this. Ever. Not even close. This is bad.

It’s the first time something like this has happened to me and hopefully it’s the last. I’ve got to turn this thing around. I’ve got to bounce back and show these guys why they have faith in me and that it’s a good idea to have faith in me.’’

 ****

 As bad as the loss to the Bills was today, the Jets were dealt a debilitating blow when they lost nose tackle Kris Jenkins to a left knee injury that could be serious, according to Rex Ryan.

Jenkins, the heart of the Jets’ defense, went down in the second quarter when teammate Shaun Ellis appeared to fall on the back of his leg in a pileup at the end of a running play.

Jenkins wasn’t available for comment after the game, but was seen limping out of the locker room with his left knee heavily bandaged.

“Unfortunately, I think it’s probably severe, but I’m not sure though,’’ Ryan said. “We’ll know much more (today). Clearly, he couldn’t return.’’

Ellis said he had to ask his wife what happened and “she said it came on a play that I hit him. I feel bad about that, that I was part of knocking our best player out of the game. I spoke to him. He’s very upset.’’

Asked if Jenkins believes he’s done for the season, Ellis said, “When you listen to him talk it sounds that way. It’s a huge blow. That’s our guy. Now guys are going to have to step up. Those are some big shoes to fill.’’

Jets LB Bart Scott said, “Of course I’m very concerned with (Jenkins) because he’s the anchor of our defense. It’s a huge (loss), because he’s a big part of what we do.’’

Sione Pouha stepped in as the starter for Jenkins and the Jets will almost surely re-sign DT Howard Green, who the released Saturday.

****

Of the Jets 14 penalties _ six came in OT and perhaps the most egregious was a personal foul penalty on S James Ihedigbo, who was ejected for throwing a punch at Bills TE Derek Fine.

“I didn’t throw a punch,’’ Ihedigbo said. “We were supposed to do a double team and I was just trying to execute my block in terms of pushing open a lane for Leon to run through. There was no intention was I trying to throw a punch. I’m not that type of player.’’

****

The Jets lost RT Damien Woody to a right knee injust in the third quarter. He was replaced by Wayne Hunter. After the game he insisted the injury wasn’t serious and that, after treatment, he’d be ready for next week. Woody missed practice all week with a foot injury and played.

As expected, WRs Jerricho Cotchery (hamstring) and Brad Smith (quad) were inactive, leaving the Jets with Braylon Edwards (3-40) and David Clowney (no catches) starting and Wallace Wright and Danny Woodhead as backups.

****

Jets CB Lito Sheppard returned to the starting lineup after missing the last three games with a right quadriceps injury.

It wasn’t a happy return for Sheppard, who nullified his own INT in the third quarter when he was called for an illegal contact penalty on Bills WR Terrell Owens. Moments later, Sheppard was beaten by Buffalo WR Lee Evans on a game-tying 37-yard TD pass.

Sheppard was livid about the nullified INT, claiming he never touched Owens, saying, “I make a great play and it’s nullified by that bull (bleep). I don’t know how (the officials) want us to play.’’

Nickel back Donald Strickland missed his fourth consecutive game with a right ankle injury. Strickland was replaced by Dwight Lowery, who had an INT.

****

When Jets K Jay Feely kicked a 23-yard FG in the first quarter it was his 23rd in a row, eclipsing Pat Leahy’s franchise record of 22 in a row. He then made a 41-yarder to make it 24 in a row, but missed a 44-yarder at the end of the first half to end the streak.

****

Jets CB Darrelle Revis helped hold Bills WR Terrell Owens to only 3 catches for 13 yards on 8 passes thrown his way. “He followed me everywhere I went,’’ Owens said.

****

 The Jets 14 penalties for 96 yards against Buffalo was the most they’ve committed since they had 15 for 100 yards against the Colts in 1996.

****

The Jets knocked Bills QB Trent Edwards out of the game in the second quarter when he was sacked by a combination of LB David Harris and DE Marques Douglas _ the Jets’ only sack of the game and only their fifth of the season.

Edwards was replaced by backup Ryan Fitzpatrick, a former Harvard QB, who perhaps got revenge for the Jets cutting of fellow former Harvard QB Chris Pizzotti this summer.

END