Sports

Adjusting to Championship football

The Premier League is humming along, Chelsea and Manchester United are vying again for the top spot and Liverpool is looming at 5th in the table.

Arsenal is languishing in the 9th spot, dropping down after what can only be described as a “disappointing start” for the perennial ‘Big Four’ club.

Manchester City is making an early-season push to prove that money solves all problems … it buys Carlos Tevez, it buys a lot of talent … it buys third place after four rounds. It even buys Emmanuel Adebayor away from Arsenal, but after his alleged stomp on ex-teammate Robin van Persie, his purchase by City apparently didn’t include any class.

I’m pulling for Aston Villa this campaign. I alluded to my support of them last season, even as their record tanked and their end-of-season form was actually worse that my beloved Newcastle United, who now toil down in the League Championship.

And that is where my attention has been, lately.

I’ve been following Newcastle in the Championship far more closely than any news of the Prem. My Magpies had a great run of form to open the season: six games unbeaten, five straight victories … it was a sight to behold that gives a glimmer of hope they’ll make a quick return to the top-flight.

They lost to Blackpool yesterday. Unfortunate, that, but full credit to the Seasiders for taking it to the Mags. Toon struck first with a header from Andy Carroll, whose presence in the squad is appreciated across Geordieland — especially considering that we’ve lost so much of the squad, without replacement — but it wasn’t enough.

Damien Duff, who said he wanted to stay with the Toon before the LC campaign started, absconded to Fulham, up in the Prem. I don’t blame him one bit. Who could honestly say that they’d rather toil in the second tier than play at the highest competitive level? I don’t know the particulars of his change of heart except that the multitude of reasons for him to make the move far outweighed an offhand remark … was he supposed to have trashed the Toon instead? To make his intentions utterly transparent? Let’s be real.

Still, without Newcastle in the Prem, I’ve not been nearly as invested this new campaign. I miss the football, though, so I will be tuning in more just to revel in the fixtures and to cheer Villa into a top four finish, and to root for other clubs to overthrow the old Big Four regime.

The Magpies’ relegation is proof that nothing is granted, and though their fall into the Championship was far more likely and obvious than is Manchester United not winning another title … change is possible. So while I’m pulling for promotion for my Mags, I’ll be pulling for a contender to topple Sir Alex and his Red army.

I’m glad football is back. And I’m thrilled to get back into it.