MLB

A ‘PERFECT’ AFTERNOON FOR CONE

During the game on July 18, 1999, the Yankees’ David Cone marveled over the facts that his pitching performance was coming on Yogi Berra Appreciation Day and that former teammate David Wells had tossed a perfect game just a season earlier.

“And then the thought ran through my mind: I’m 36 years old, this is probably the last chance I’ll ever have to be in this position,” Cone recalled yesterday. “So I was well aware of it. In some ways, I’m thankful that I was older ’cause I could appreciate what was going on more.”

Cone finished off a perfect game that day in a 6-0 triumph over the Expos in The Bronx. On the 10th anniversary yesterday, Cone threw out the first pitch to Yankees manager Joe Girardi, his catcher for the perfect game.

Cone said he understands that the perfect game is a key part of his legacy.

“The further removed I get from this game, the more I appreciate that that’s my signature moment,” he said. “Even though if you ask me, I’d pick the World Series championships because those are the best. But people remember me for that day and I’m thankful for it.”