US News

PATIENTS HAIL NEW REASON TO HOPE

For Karl Robb, who has suffered from Parkinson’s disease for 20 years, President Obama’s action on stem-cell research was a down payment on hope for a better future.

“This is a step forward for hope and progress and promise for the medical community,” said Robb, 42, who lives in Fairfax, Va. “It’s a huge leap for scientists whose hands have been tied for so long.”

Robb was diagnosed with the illness when he was 23 years old, but started suffering symptoms years before that. He is writing a guide on living with the disease.

COMPLETE POLITICS COVERAGE

MORE: OBAMA UNLOCKS CELLS

MORE: OVERDUE SHOT IN ARM FOR SCIENCE

“As one of the over 1½ million people with Parkinson’s disease, I have been waiting for a cure for over 20 years,” he said.

“Parkinson’s disease robs you constantly of independence and dignity. As someone with young-onset Parkinson’s, I am fortunate that the progression of this disease is slower than many forms.

“Since I was 17, I have watched my balance, speech, coordination agility and gait falter due to this chronic illness,” he said.

“I have watched friends divorce, get hospitalized and die from Parkinson’s,” he added. “I hear people ask me, ‘Why do the research?’ My answer is: ‘How are we ever going to know if we don’t try?’ “

maggie.haberman@nypost.com