US News

BATTY VAL MULLING A GOV RUN

Holy bat race!

Batman actor Val Kilmer is considering throwing his mask in the ring for governor of New Mexico in 2010.

“I’m just looking for ways to be contributive,” he told The Associated Press Thursday. “And if that ends up being where I can make a substantial contribution, then I’ll run.”

Kilmer, 49, who grew up in LA and has lived in New Mexico for more than 20 years, says he hasn’t yet made up his mind whether to run.

But the actor, who played rock star Jim Morrison in the 1991 film “The Doors” and the lead role in 1995’s “Batman Forever,” insisted: “If I run, I’m going to be the next governor.”

In 2010, term limits will force Democratic Gov. Bill Richardson from office.

Kilmer is registered as a Democrat and voted for Barack Obama while filming in Bulgaria.