MLB

Manuel is a Man-Ram fan

I just got through listening to Jerry Manuel‘s chat on SNY tonight, and it was clear that Manny Ramirez would be a Met by now if it were up to Manuel. While Jeff Wilpon and Omar Minaya lamely and inexplicably brush off the constant Man-Ram questions, much to the dismay of Mets fans seemingly everywhere based on my e-mail and the angry comments throughout this blog, Jerry all but openly campaigned for the club to sign the 37-year-old free agent slugger.

Asked if Manny Being Manny would be a problem for him or the Mets’ clubhouse, Manuel said: “Nah, I don’t think so. I don’t have a problem with people that produce in the form and fashion that Manny Ramirez produces. We shouldn’t spend that much time in the locker room anyway. Our job is to be on the field, and Manny Ramirez has proven that he is probably one of the best right-handed hitters of our generation. To have a shot at managing him would be exciting for me. I’ve had Albert Belle, Frank Thomas, tremendous right-handed hitters. I would love to have the opportunity to watch Manny hit every day.”

But Jerry demurred when asked if he planned to lobby his bosses to sign Ramirez as loudly as he did during his SNY appearance.

“From my point of view as the manager, I don’t get involved with [that],” Manuel said, referring to personnel decisions. “Once that player becomes a Met, I get involved from there.”

Jerry also touched on a few other subjects before pitchers and catchers report to Port St. Lucie the middle of next month:

* Luis Castillo: “Our job as a staff is to get him back to being the player he was and get him back to being embraced by the team he’s playing for. He has the skills. It’s just a matter of us as a staff getting him to play at the level he can play at. If he can, then we’ll have to do some things to put out there what is the best team.”

* Last year’s second straight collapse: “It’s always out in the open. We will never get rid of that until we finish and get into the playoffs.”

* The potential participation of 14 Mets in the World Baseball Classic in March: “I wish there wasn’t the World Baseball Classic at this time because the core players are the players I need to manage in spring training. Those are the guys you want to make sure understand what you’re looking for and what you want. From the 23rd of March, we’re going to have to do some things to get everybody in line.”

* Whether the Mets should let Johan Santana pitch in the WBC: “You have to be careful. It’s a real sensitive thing when you’ve played in those countries and see how passionate their fans are … it’s a tough call for him and for the organization. I’m glad I don’t have to make that one.”