NFL

Is Favre hurt?

Brett Favre was asked about his poor play today and did nothing to dispel the notion he may be injured.

“During the course of the year, there was numerous times where I’d been asked about my shoulder and it had been hit a couple of times,” Favre said. “I don’t know. I mean, just knowing my body, there may be something, but there’s no test yet to reveal anything.”

Favre sounded despondent during his press conference and reflective. It did not sound like he expects to return next season.

“It’s been a great career,” Favre said. “This year was a gamble. I guess you could say, a risk, whatever you want to call it. I can honestly say I’m thankful I was given the opportunity here. It’s been a lot of fun. It’s been good and bad times as far as our season has gone, but I’m glad I came. I made the right decision.”

Eric Mangini said he’d like to have Favre back next season but hasn’t talked to the quarterback about it yet.