Sports

TIGER WON’T SACK BIG-MOUTH CADDIE

Tiger Woods yesterday said Steve Williams will remain his caddie when he returns to the PGA Tour sometime in 2009. Exactly when that will be depends on the continued rehabilitation of his reconstructed left knee.

Williams has been on the bag for 13 of Woods’ 14 major championships, but his job seemed to be in jeopardy after the caddie called Phil Mickelson an expletive that rhymes with brick and other unflattering things during a charity event in New Zealand last weekend.

But Woods, during his first sit-down with the media since undergoing surgery after winning the 2008 U.S. Open at Torrey Pines, made it clear Williams will remain his caddie.

“Yes he is,” Woods said. “Yes he is.”

Woods has been known to fire camp members who draw too much public attention. He canned his first caddie, Fluff Cowan, in 1999 and later split with outspoken swing coach Butch Harmon. But, evidently, the loud-mouth Williams has survived.

“I communicated with Phil and we’ve discussed it,” Woods said. “I talked to Stevie about it. He feels bad what happened. I was disappointed it even happened at all.”

Mickelson was at the Callaway manufacturing and testing facility yesterday, preparing his equipment for the upcoming season. A source confirmed that Woods called Mickelson and the two spoke briefly. Williams also called Mickelson to apologize.

“It’s something none of us wanted to have happen,” Woods said. “But it’s over and done with. We put it to bed.”

Perhaps. The incident is sure to resurface the first time Woods and Mickelson are in the same field. Just when that will be is uncertain.

Woods is happy with how his rehab has progressed, but still isn’t pointing to a date for his return.

“Everyone heals at different rates,” he said. “I couldn’t tell you, my surgeon couldn’t tell you, my trainer can’t tell you. It’s frustrating from that standpoint. I want to look forward to something. But I just look forward to it day by day.”

Woods, 32, said he began taking full swings about two weeks ago, but hasn’t worked his way through his bag yet. He added that he is being cautious not to do too much too soon.

“I’m actually stronger in my legs than I’ve ever been,” he said. “But still you have to understand the healing process of the ligament. That ligament is only going to heal so fast. You have to be responsible for your actions. I can’t stretch that out.”

Woods is hosting the Chevron World Challenge, a 16-player event being held at the Sherwood Country Club in Thousand Oaks, Calif., that begins today. He is the defending champion and though he admitted he misses the competition, he knows he’s a long way from returning to action.

“My game is not ready for public consumption,” he said. “I couldn’t display it right now. I wouldn’t want to. I wouldn’t want the guys to see me out there playing that poorly.”

Woods spoke of the pain he endured while winning the U.S. Open in a dramatic playoff with Rocco Mediate in June. He grimaced throughout the 72 holes of regulation and especially during the 19-hole playoff. But the surgery should give him stability he hasn’t enjoyed since injuring his knee several years ago.

“I don’t want to be the same,” he said. “I want to become better than I was and this leg will help me in that process.”

george.willis@nypost.com