Sports

Red Bulls’ Dane Richards hopeful of returning Sunday

By BRIAN LEWIS

The striker-starved Red Bulls got a welcome sight today when both speedy Dane Richards and John Wolyniec return to practice. And even better, Richards _ out since July 19 _ may be ready to play Sunday against Toronto.

“Rick (Guter, trainer) said if everything goes as planned I should be back this weekend,’’ Richards said. Just to make sure, I asked if he meant Sunday’s tilt against Toronto, and he said “Yeah. I’m feeling pretty good.’’

That was welcome news for coach Juan Carlos Osorio. He’s been searching for a forward, and also bemoaning his team’s glaring lack of pace with Jozy Altidore sold and both Richards and Oscar Echeverry hurt.

Richards had suffered a hip flexor July 19 against the Galaxy. At the time he was expected to miss 4-6 weeks; it’s looking on the low end of that range.

“Absolutely; it’s great to see Dane back on the field,’’ Osorio said. “John also trained today; so it looks like the team is getting stronger and fitter. I would rather have hard decisions to make rather than making decisions based on a lack of options and possibilities.’’

When asked if Richards was an option or possibility for Sunday, Osorio relied “I think he is. But I will look very hard at that because I do not want to rush into anything and take a step back. I would rather just be cautious and hopefully well make the right decision.’’

Richards had actually been called into Jamaica’s National Team camp, but the injury ruined those plans. But he returned home and spent the past week there, handling some affairs and checking in with the National Team coaching staff.

“Rick was giving me workouts to do while I was back in Jamaica. I went back to do some business. But I called him and asked him what I should do and he told me,’’ Richards said.

“When I went back there I was talking to (the coaches). I was to play the El Salvador game on the 29th in Texas. They called me for that game but I was out because of the hip. I’m not sure the next one I think they play Guatemala. I was called into camp but I couldn’t go because of the hip. They wanted to see me play El Salvador and Guatemala before the Canada game.’’

(On a side note, Richards guaranteed a 1-2 Jamaica finish in the Olympic 100.)