NFL

PLAX MEANS BUSINESS

We interrupt the ongoing and very real Jeremy Shockey saga to bring you the newest controversy to hit the Super Bowl champion Giants:

Plaxico Burress yesterday refused to practice because he wants a new contract and vowed not to set foot on the field until he gets one.

Burress said talks with the Giants and his agent, Drew Rosenhaus, have been ongoing for two months, with little progress.

“We tried to handle it with class, keep it as quiet as we can. I guess you got to start somewhere,” Burress said on the first day of the Giants’ mandatory mini-camp. “I just feel it’s about doing what’s right. That’s the way I see it. I haven’t been happy with the way it’s been going. That’s the reason I’m not participating.”

What if this drags out all the way until July 24, the reporting day for training camp in Albany? Will Burress stay away?

“I guess we’ll have to see what happens when it comes around,” Burress said with a devilish grin. “I got a pretty good idea what I’ll do.”

So it goes with the Giants following their shocking march to victory in Super Bowl XLII. Tom Coughlin was rewarded with a new four-year, $21 million contract and defensive coordinator Steve Spagnuolo more than tripled his salary. Osi Umenyiora wants more money, Chris Snee is entering the final year of his contract and wants more money. The same for Brandon Jacobs.

Burress wants his share. In 2005, he came to the Giants as a free agent, signing a six-year, $25 million deal. He has three years remaining on his contract and is scheduled to be paid $3.25M this season, $3.5M in 2009 and $3.75M in 2010. Burress feels he is underpaid in a market where new deals have been given to receivers Randy Moss (three years, $27M), Terrell Owens (three years, $27M) and Larry Fitzgerald (four years, $40M).

“They went out and took care of their players,” Burress said.

Asked what he is seeking, Burress added, “I wouldn’t say that kind of money. We all want to be compensated for what we do. [I want to] do the best for myself and my family so I can remain here throughout the rest of my career.”

The Giants listed nine players who would not participate in yesterday’s practice because of physical restrictions. Burress was not on the list, yet Coughlin said Burress was held out with a “sore knee.” A few hours later, Burress stated he felt healthy enough to practice, then, unsolicited, explained his non-participation as “a business decision.”

Rosenhaus said, “We are in discussions with the Giants as it relates to a contract extension for Plaxico. We’re hopeful to get something worked out here in the near future.”

GM Jerry Reese, not looking especially happy, walked off the field in the afternoon and offered little. “Internal business,” he said. “It will be handled internally. That’s all I have to say.”

This mini-camp is mandatory and Burress did report, but he did withhold his services on the field.

“I’m here so I don’t think I can get fined,” he said.

As for Shockey, the mystery surrounding his frame of mind continues. He did arrive but did not step on to the field, which seemed to irritate Coughlin. Shockey is recovering from leg and ankle surgery and is not ready to practice, but the other players held out because of injuries or ailments all made it out to the field. Not Shockey.

Coughlin said the only contact he’s had with Shockey this offseason is “a series of text messages.” He spoke with Shockey prior to practice but would not divulge what was said. Shockey also blew off the media interview session, and it’s clear his relationship with certain elements of the team is severely strained.

“You have to ask him, I’m not in his head,” Eli Manning said. “I know I want him out there.”

paul.schwartz@nypost.com