MLB

IMPRESSIVE PELFREY ROBBED OF WIN

Mike Pelfrey hadn’t won in nearly two months before last night. After a sterling performance in the Mets’ 5-3 victory over Arizona, that didn’t change.

The right hander pitched as well as he has all year, before Billy Wagner coughed up a 3-0 lead in the ninth.

“It’s disappointing that I didn’t get it,” Pelfrey said after blanking the Diamondbacks over eight innings before coming out after surrendering a single to lead off the ninth. “But Billy’s been huge for us all year.”

And for the first time in quite a while, the same could be said of Pelfrey, who opened the season 2-0, but has dropped his last six decisions. But last night was different. He showed excellent command throughout and managed to convince Willie Randolph to leave him in the game and hit for himself in the bottom of the eighth.

“He’s starting to show that he really belongs here,” Randolph said of Pelfrey, who also pitched well in his previous two starts. “He’s a big, strong kid. It’s a shame. This was the best I’ve seen him throw, but it shows that he’s continuing to grow.”

The small Shea Stadium crowd approved of Randolph’s decision to leave Pelfrey in the game and even cheered Pelfrey after he struck out.

“I started to go hit and they told me I was done,” Pelfrey said. “I was kind of mad and told them I wanted it.”

Wagner was one strike away from closing out Pelfrey’s win before Mark Reynolds took him deep, tying the game at 3-3, but that didn’t entirely spoil the starter’s efforts.

“I’m not guaranteed anything at this point,” Pelfrey said. “I have to pitch well if I want to stay here and I have to win. I haven’t done that, even after this game, and I want to win, but this was definitely important for me.”