Sports

ANNIKA’S RED HOT

The Farewell Annika Tour started in the fast lane, even while she basked in a state of serenity.

The decision to retire in December didn’t damage Annika Sorenstam’s game yesterday. The eight-time LPGA Player of the Year shares the Sybase Classic lead as the second round begins today at Upper Montclair CC in Clifton, NJ.

“I just feel at peace,” said Sorenstam. “In the past, I’ve always felt pressure to perform. Now, I’m going to say, ‘Hey, swing it loose, enjoy it,’ and go from there,” she said after a bogey-free 5-under 67 in her first round since stunning the golf world Tuesday with her retirement announcement.

“I felt very much in control . . . very calm, enjoying the walk and the golf.”

Sorenstam insisted she won’t be reconsidering her decision if she recaptures her game, saying she’s already done that.

“I’m there. My game is as good as it can be and I’m at peace,” Sorenstam said.

Sorenstam resumes play today in a three-way tie with Song-Hee Kim and Rachel Hetherington. Lorena Ochoa is among those a stroke behind, with Sorenstam gunning to go out on top by reclaiming Ochoa’s No. 1 ranking by season’s end.

“If I make No. 1, that would be great. I just have a long way to go. Lorena’s playing some great golf, so it will be tough to overtake,” Sorenstam said.

Coming back from an injury-plagued winless year, the 37-year-old Sorenstam has won three of her eight entries this year, including her last two.

Ochoa, who leads Sorenstam a prohibitive 948-461 in the Rolex Rankings, has won five of her eight tourneys this year. She leads Sorenstam 189-135 in the Player of the Year chase and $1.538 million to $1.233 million in 2008 winnings.

“I like winning, and I like the [No. 1] position. I want keep working hard to stay there,” Ochoa said.

Sorenstam’s Last Whirl and the declared pursuit may change the dynamic.

Ochoa, the two-time defending champion, played in the group ahead of Sorenstam, her lone bogey on No. 12 separating her from a share of the lead. She seemed satisfied with her round and station.

“Seeing Annika’s name, we’re all used to that. We see it every week,” Ochoa said. “I’m fine. What’s important is to make a good start.”

mark.everson@nypost.com