CHEF JAM

‘TOP Chef” host Padma Lakshmi really does eat. And while she’s hands down the hottest person on the set, she’s not the only diva (paging head judge Tom Colicchio!).

That’s just some of the insider intrigue revealed to us when we spoke to the seven New York-based contestants on the new season of “Top Chef,” which premieres March 12 at 10 p.m. on Bravo.

This time around, the chefs are vying for the $100,000 prize in Chicago, where they found not only the local pizza to be lacking – “They put the sauce on top of the cheese,” says contestant Manuel – but the show’s caterer, too, which is alternately described as “pretty bad,” “really bad” and “horrible.”

But it wasn’t all hard labor and gruel. After all, when you put 16 chefs in one house, things are bound to get a bit wild.

“You’re always running at 100 percent,” says another contestant, Dale. “Whether it’s 100 percent drinking or 100 percent working.”

So here’s the scoop this season: Dale’s got a major attitude problem. Lisa, too. Except even Dale-haters admit he has the chops to back up all that trash-talking. When it comes to technical skills, Richard’s no slouch either, but he hails from Atlanta and likes weird stuff like foam, so do you really care?

If you’re having trouble keeping up, then check out our cheat sheet to the New York competition.

DALE

29, Sous-chef at Buddakan

* Cooking style: Modern Asian

* Favorite restaurant: Ramen Setagaya. It’s a little noodle joint. It’s the most authentic ramen I’ve had in New York.

* Favorite drunk food: What gave you the impression that I drink? Bacon blue cheese burgers.

* Adjective that describes you best: Blue-collar

* Favorite reality-TV star: Flavor Flav. He’s not really famous for anything except doing a lot of cocaine and being ugly as the day is long.

* Who has the worst attitude this season? Lisa, without a doubt! She had the worst f – – – ing attitude ever! She was just negative: This sucks, that sucks, why do we have to do this? She’d tell people when she was gassy. I get it, you’re uncomfortable, live with it.

* Some contestants say you have the worst attitude – true? Like 50 Cent said, “Let the haters hate.” I love it! I’m not trying to be a villain, an a – – hole. I expect a lot. If I’m difficult, it’s because my standards are high. The

people who I called out wanted to shine up in the video.

* Hung says: Is Dale supposed to be [this season’s] Hung?

Manuel

33, Executive chef at Dos Caminos on Third Avenue

* Cooking style: Seasonal and regional

* Favorite restaurant: Sushi Yasuda, simply because what Yasuda-son does is so pure and true to the craft.

* Favorite drunk food: I’m a sucker for a burger at 4 in the morning.

* Adjective that describes you best: Intense

* Favorite reality-TV star: On the [third] season of the “Real World,” there was a guy called Puck. He was the most obnoxious guy. And Johnny Fairplay from “Survivor.” He did things that made my jaw drop. He lied that his grandmother died.

* Who has the worst attitude this season? Lisa

* Hung says: He seems like a smart guy who runs a successful restaurant in Manhattan, but I don’t think he has the chops to make it to the end.

LISA

27, Former sous-chef at Public

* Cooking style: Asian-influenced

* Favorite restaurant: Sripraphai, the Thai restaurant in Queens. It’s inexpensive, the service is quick and the food is consistent, flavorful and delicious.

* Favorite drunk food: I’d have to say a diner burger.

* Adjective that describes you best: Different

* Favorite reality-TV star: It’s a tie. I love the Israeli guy from “Project Runway” and the little gay boy with the attitude that just won “fan favorite.”

* Who has the worst attitude this season? Dale

* Some contestants say you have the worst attitude – true? I’m very direct; a lot of people can take it as being harsh. I’m rude. I’m a bitch. It’s not a popularity contest.

It’s not about who’s the most fun. It’s about cooking. And if someone feels I’m negative, that’s fine; that’s their own opinion.

If they took a half a second to get to know me, they’d learn that I’m an amazing person. I’m fun to be around.

* Hung says: I hope her Asian flavors are as good as mine.

SPIKE

27, Chef de cuisine at Mai House

* Cooking style: Rustic, Mediterranean

* Favorite restaurant: When I like to indulge, I go to Barney Greengrass for brunch for their chicken livers. As far as dinner, I love Casa Mono and Babbo.

* Favorite drunk food: Hands down, the taco truck on 14th Street. More often than not, I end my nights there.

* How’d you get your nickname? That’s a mystery, and it’s gonna stay a mystery. I’ve had it for a very, very long time.

* Adjective that describes you best: Neurotic

* Favorite reality TV star: Marcel, from [“Top Chef”] season two.

* Who has the worst attitude this season? I’d have to say Lisa. She’s a very angry person.

* The worst personal hygiene? Let’s go with Lisa again. Gotta wash that bandana, you know what I mean?

* Hung says: He looks like he has a lot of energy, like he can kick some a–.

ANDREW

30, Chef at Le Cirque

* Cooking style: Eclectic

* Favorite restaurant: Pio Pio. It’s Peruvian style, and for some reason they like chopped-up hot dogs in their French fries. I get the Matador combo. It’s $28. You get a whole chicken, and it comes with avocado salad and a huge plate of fries with the hot dogs. It’s insane.

* Favorite drunk food: Pizza. It’s the easiest thing to grab when you’re drunk.

* Adjective that describes you best: Random

* Favorite reality TV star: I don’t have a TV.

* Who has the worst personal hygiene this season? It’s not the worst, but someone took care of themselves too much. It wasn’t a girl, but a guy. You shouldn’t shave your legs if you’re a guy unless you’re a swimmer. And there were no swimmers. It ain’t “Top Swimmer.”

* One blog calls you this season’s Howie – true? Yeah, because I’m bald and extremely overweight? I can see the relation.

* Hung says: He seems like a hard-core bada–, but I don’t know if he’ll make it to the end.

NIKKI

35, Chef/co-owner at 24 Prince

* Cooking style: Eclectic

* Favorite restaurant: Definitely Lupa. I’m addicted to the ricotta gnocchi.

* Favorite drunk food: A big, fat juicy burger

* Adjective that describes you best: Feisty

* Favorite reality TV star: I really like Heidi Klum. I watch all the cheesy ones, too, like “I Love New York.”

* Who has the worst attitude this season? Dale

* The worst personal hygiene? Kiwi. Kiwi is Mark.

* Hung says: She has a head for business, but can she really take the heat and produce food on the fly?

MARK

29, Sous-chef at Public

* Cooking style: From the land Down Under

* Favorite restaurant: I like Casa Mono because they do some funky, not-middle-of-the-road stuff. The sweetbreads are pretty good.

* Favorite drunk food: In [New Zealand], we have minced pies with ketchup. You get it from the gas station on your way home. Mmm, beautiful.

* Adjective that describes you best: Superb

* Favorite reality TV star: Morimoto kicks a– on “Iron Chef.”

* Hung says: He seems like a pretty boy. I hope he can cook as well as he looks.

* “Top Chef: Chicago” kicks off its fourth season on Wednesday, March 12, at 10 p.m. on Bravo with guest judges Anthony Bourdain and Rocco DiSpirito.