NFL

SERBY’S SUNDAY Q & A WITH…JUSTIN TUCK

The Post’s Steve Serby chatted with the third-year defensive end from Notre Dame who was second on the Giants with 10 sacks during the regular season.

Q: (Tonight) around 7:30, what do you visualize?

A: Some camera catching a snapshot of me pushing off of (Tony) Romo on the ground with the ball in his hand with three zeroes on the clock . . . with the Giants winning.

Q: Terrell Owens grew up around the corner from you (in Kellyton, Ala.).

A: I knew of him; there were stories about him when he was in high school. It gets hot in the summers. He used to jog the town center in midday in a jogging suit and a book bag on his shoulders. He used to jog around with bricks in his book bag.

Q: You’d like Jessica Simpson at the game?

A: ‘Cause I want to beat Tony Romo at his best; I think he’ll play better with Jessica there . . . I’m joking.

Q: Can’t she be a distraction?

A: I don’t know; that depends on Romo. I think if she’s a distraction, she can be a distraction if she’s at the game or not at the game, so I don’t really weigh in on that.

Q: Antonio Pierce’s best trash-talking moment?

A: When he walks up to the line of scrimmage and the quarterback’s making checks? (He’ll say) “That’s not gonna work,” and bleep like that.

Q: Any one particular player he got into it with?

A: The Miami game, this O-lineman named (Rex) Hadnot; they got into it pretty good.

Q: What was he telling him?

A: He told him something about, “You’re the reason why they ain’t winning. Your name is Hadnot.” That was him and Osi (Umenyiora).

Q: How about you?

A: I don’t talk, unless I’m provoked.

Q: What’s the best speech Michael Strahan has given on the field just before kickoff?

A: I can’t repeat it.

Q: Because it’s X-rated?

A: Yes.

Q: You expect another this Sunday?

A: Absolutely.

Q: You guys like it?

A: Yeah . . . we’re different people out on that football field.

Q: Different people how?

A: That’s kinda like on a battleground, so we become kind of warriors, I guess, if that ain’t too cliche.

Q: How do you describe that transformation?

A: I don’t; I can’t. It’s kinda like people that drive NASCAR, they really say the rush that they get driving 200 miles per hour you really can’t explain.

Q: You liked the Cowboys growing up?

A: I actually did, I’m embarrassed to say that, but I did.

Q: Quarterback you’d love to sack?

A: (Tom) Brady. I hit him a lot, but I didn’t sack him. Hopefully, we get to sack him some this year.

Q: Your Lisfranc (foot) fracture 15 months ago in Texas Stadium?

A: It was me going against (Marc) Colombo, I think. (Drew) Bledsoe threw the ball real quick, so I planted to run to the football, and as soon as I planted, I guess, I twisted some way or another and I guess it just popped there.

Q: How did growing up with five sisters toughen you up?

A: They used to jump on me. I was kinda annoying at times.

Q: What would you do to annoy them?

A: Messing up dishes that they had to wash sometimes . . . after they’d wash ’em, I’d come in right behind ’em and mess up a dish.

Q: Describe Kellyton.

A: Small . . . quiet . . . peaceful.

Q: Just like Manhattan?

A: Just like it, man. Manhattan probably has about 10 million more people . . . a few more traffic lights.

Q: How many traffic lights in Kellyton?

A: None. We have a caution light.

Q: What was there to do?

A: You stayed outside, you threw the football around, you played basketball from sunup to sundown . . . you cut grass.

Q: Did you make money cutting grass?

A: My whole street is only Tucks, and I was kinda like the male stud of the family at the time, so I got the opportunity to cut everybody’s yard on Saturday.

Q: Describe your father.

A: Mild temper; it takes a lot for him to really get upset. If he’s ever upset, you know you’ve done something that you really didn’t have no business doing.

Q: What’s the most upset he’s gotten at you?

A: Probably a report-card grade.

Q: Any particular subject?

A: Social studies. I just didn’t like this teacher; I’m stubborn, so I just decided I wasn’t gonna do any work.

Q: What kind of grade did you get?

A: It was low.

Q: And what was his reaction?

A: Uhh, it was bad.

Q: Beating?

A: I won’t say it was a beatin’ but I got whupped – in front of the whole school bus. That might be my most embarrassing moment right there.

Q: With his hands?

A: You ever hear of a switch? We had a lot of those around my household (chuckles).

Q: How old were you?

A: Seventh grade.

Q: Did your social studies grade improve after that?

A: It went up 72 points.

Q: What was it down to?

A: I refuse to tell you (smiles).

Q: How did you propose to your fiancee (Lauran Williamson) a year ago?

A: I got on my knee and asked her did she want to marry me?

Q: Where was it?

A: At her house (in Connecticut). I’m not that big of a romantic. I’m kind of a to-the-point guy.

Q: Have you set a date?

A: April 12.

Q: Adalius Thomas is your older cousin.

A: His father and my father are first cousins. I’ve seen hits that he had on guys, it was just like, “Wow! Do I want to play football?”

Q: You started out as tight end your first two weeks at Notre Dame before they switched you to defense.

A: I like hitting people, I didn’t necessarily like getting hit.

Q: Boyhood idol?

A: He-Man.

Q: Favorite childhood memory?

A: First time I beat my brother (Raleigh) in a basketball game. I was 12 and he was 20.

Q: Hobbies?

A: I got a ’70 Chevelle I’m working over now.

Q: Three dinner guest?

A: Martin Luther King; Jesus; Gandhi.

Q: Favorite movie?

A: “Braveheart;” “Gladiator.”

Q: Favorite actor?

A: Denzel Washington.

Q: Favorite actress?

A: Julia Roberts.

Q: Favorite entertainer?

A: Marvin Gaye.

Q: Favorite meal?

A: Fried chicken and collard greens.