US News

‘A-BLOOM’ BARES A-ROD ‘ENVY’

Mayor Bloomberg says he’s not batting in the same ballpark as born-again Yankee Alex Rodriguez – at least when it comes to salary.

“I work for one dollar a year, so I really don’t have anything in common with A-Rod in terms of compensation,” the multibillionaire Bloomberg joked on his weekly WABC radio show, when host John Gambling asked about the slugger’s reported $275 million new deal with the Bombers.

“He’s a very nice guy when I’ve chit-chatted with him,” added billionaire Bloomberg, who recalled having a sit-down with A-Rod and his wife Cynthia at the request of Yankees brass when they were trying to lure him here nearly four years ago.

“The Yankees asked me to have dinner or drinks, I forget which,” he remembered. “And I said, ‘The New York press is tough, but this is the Big Apple.’ ”

Rodriguez appeared set to leave the Yanks, but this week reportedly renogiated for a 10-year deal.